window / installation suggestions

For all those Replacement Window decisions - just read, review or post a question. You will be helped!
MT-transplant

window / installation suggestions

#1 Post by MT-transplant »

Please forgive me if this post seems long, but I wanted to give all the relevant information up front. I own a townhouse and in which I want to replace all of the windows (4) and add another one to existing construction as part of a larger remodeling project. The new window would be placed where a non-functioning wood fireplace now sits in the living room. (I want to put a gas one in a different corner of the living room) I am a complete newbie to evaluating windows and (maybe even more importantly) selecting and hiring the people that will install the new windows. So I’m asking for any advice that you all can give on this process.

The current window units are comprised two separate aluminum-framed windows. Double paned glass on the inside window and a separate single paned storm window on the outside. The windows are drafty, frost-up, and were poorly installed in the mid-80s when the place was built. Association stipulations specify that I must use windows with a brown exterior and that they must be sliders (although, I’m going to try to get a variance allowing the new widow to be a bay window with single hung venting sides). In addition to the new window, I want to modify the size of one of the other windows (making it smaller in height). The townhouse has vinyl siding exterior.

I’m wondering if anyone would be willing to give me suggestions on windows I should look at? I’ve already looked at Infinity Windows (Marvin) and “Swing and Clean” [UltraMax] windows (Alside). I am going to look at Pella’s Impervia line next weekend when Minnesota thaws out a bit. Does anyone know anything about how Eagle windows compare to those listed above? How about Wellington windows? Any others that would work with the association requirements?