Schuco/Insulsash vs. Schuco/SupremaPlus vs. Schuco/...Schuco

For all those Replacement Window decisions - just read, review or post a question. You will be helped!
SteveS

Schuco/Insulsash vs. Schuco/SupremaPlus vs. Schuco/...Schuco

#1 Post by SteveS »

Can anyone here give me some idea if there are any significant differences between Insulsash windows and Suprema Plus windows(both made in CT by Schuco, right?), and between those two Schuco variants and plain 'ole Schuco windows (Corona 4000, 3000, etc.)?

I have received quotes from an Insulsash dealer and from a Suprema Plus dealer for one 1-lite casement(28w x 40h), one 2-lite, 1-operable - sash casement(56w x 57h), 1 2-lite french swing(56w x 51h) and 2 2-lite in-line sliders(56w x 51h; all dimensions are in inches). The Insulsash dealer's quote is nearly $1500 more than the Suprema Plus dealer's quote(approx. $4500 vs. nearly $6000).

I have some experience with the Insulsash dealer…they sold me and installed a 6-ft sliding patio door last June. The price for the door ($2560) seemed kinda high, but I rationalized it by assuming that I will only need to install the Schuco door once, but replacing the existing wood - w/aluminum - exterior - cladding - Pella ProLine door for $1400 would need to be repeated every 12 years, if the new ones rot out under the cladding as fast as my old one did. The Pella ProLine windows I am looking at replacing are well on their way down the same Road to Rot that the ProLine patio door trod. Anyway, the Insulsash dealer did what appears to be a good job on that installation. In addition, my neighbor bought a house full of Insulsash Schuco’s from the same dealer, and appears to be happy with the product, the installation, and several follow- up service calls; likewise for his father, who has also purchased a house full of the same brand/dealer of windows. So far, I have not talked to any references for the Suprema Plus dealer.