Replacement Windows- Please Help! Sunrise vs. MI

For all those Replacement Window decisions - just read, review or post a question. You will be helped!
bjheiser

Replacement Windows- Please Help! Sunrise vs. MI

#1 Post by bjheiser »

Hi there, I am new to the replacement window game and I am trying to get as much information as possible to make the best decision on this expensive investment! I have tried to get myself as "versed" as possible about windows, but recognize there are a lot of experienced and smart people that may be able to provide some insight! So thank you!

I am looking to replace wood casement windows and have finally wrapped my head around vinyl, not needing to necessarily put wood back in. We have a Honey Oak trim, so we would be looking to replace with a vinyl that has a wood grain match.

I have met with 7 local/national companies and based on a balance of options and price I think I have it narrowed down to Thebco (Sunrise Windows) and Window World of Madison (MI windows?) Both have a lifetime warranty that includes accident breakage. Anyone have any insight into either honoring the warranty?

World of Windows comes in about 50% cheaper in cost, but Thebco has a good reputation around the area. One difference is that Window World does not foam fill their frames, while Sunrise uses a fiberglass core "FiberCore". I have read that that filling the frames is mostly a gimmick and doesn't improve performance/strength, is this true? Is there value in the FiberCore?

Another difference is that Thebco has AWDI certified installers, which is specifically mentioned by Consumer Reports as an important factor.