Do I need new buck strip?

For those self-installers
Post Reply
Message
Author
dorlando
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 8:11 am

Do I need new buck strip?

#1 Post by dorlando » Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:29 pm

I am going from aluminum to vinyl windows in a block house and my current buck strips are only about 1 x 2. When I put in the vinyl windows the screw holes do not line up against the buck strip since the frame is wider. Will I need to install new buck strips or can I screw directly into the block and not go through the buck? The drywall will be between the block jamp and the window frame.

Thanks

User avatar
Window4U (IL)
Posts: 1374
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Sales and Installation in Chicagoland and Central Illinois

Re: Do I need new buck strip?

#2 Post by Window4U (IL) » Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:15 pm

You can attach to the block.

TheWindowNerd
Posts: 1704
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:52 pm
Location: SE PA & NJ; CT
Contact:

Re: Do I need new buck strip?

#3 Post by TheWindowNerd » Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:38 pm

i agree.

User avatar
HomeSealed
Posts: 2440
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:14 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Madison areas
Contact:

Re: Do I need new buck strip?

#4 Post by HomeSealed » Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:45 pm

It is defintely ok to go into the block, although when I encounter this, I usually buck frame it. I can't necessarily say that it is definitely better that way for any reason, it just feels better to me. :)

Post Reply