Foam or no Foam on Installation

For all those Replacement Window decisions - just read, review or post a question. You will be helped!
Kimmer

Foam or no Foam on Installation

#1 Post by Kimmer »

I have talked to various installers and some have said that they use expanding foam during installation and others have said that they don't and only use fiberglass insulation.

Is it really just installer preference or does one have a definite advantage over the other? Does it vary by window type?

FenEx

#2 Post by FenEx »

Kimmer

It absolutely matters. Fiber glass should not be used for this purpose as it doesn't work... it neither insulates or airseals when used in this fashion. This is verified by the manufacturers of the FG products themselves. I am a consultant for Owens Corning as well as Johns Manville... trust me.

You want to insist on a low pressure build foam designed for windows and doors.

survivor

insulation

#3 Post by survivor »

FenEx since you mentioned that you work for Owens Corning can you give me any info on their vinyl windows that I see advertized. I am on the west coast of Florida. Thanks

FenEx

#4 Post by FenEx »

Survivor

LOL... I don't work for Owens Corning... they bring me in from time to time as a corporate consultant and subject matter expert. Owens Corning does not currently even make a window. I'd love to see the advertisements near you.

survivor

window insulation

#5 Post by survivor »

FenEx try this site for the windows www.ocwindows.com

Skydawggy

Re: window insulation

#6 Post by Skydawggy »

survivor wrote:FenEx try this site for the windows www.ocwindows.com
If you look at the dates on that website, they are from 1996-2000. Iirc OC window and siding division went into bankruptcy around that time.

Guy

#7 Post by Guy »