Simonton 5500 quote help

For all those Replacement Window decisions - just read, review or post a question. You will be helped!
dinfusion

Simonton 5500 quote help

#1 Post by dinfusion »

I received a quote today from a simonton dealer for the following

18 windows total
8 bedroom size windows
2 dining room windows 80" tall
1 slider
3 kitchen windows ( Half a bedroom window size)
1 Small kitchen window
2 small bathroom windows
1 long skinny window

Sorry for the crude descriptions.

Quote for the 5500 double hungs with no grids and the glass package that meets the energy tax credit standards was $10,597 installed, for an average of $588 a window.

I am new to the window world and didn't know of another brand i might should look at. I'm in the Dallas, TX area.

Also, will most Simonton dealers be right around the same price?

tom77

Re: Simonton 5500 quote help

#2 Post by tom77 »

I believe you could do better. Get a few more estimates and look at Gorell, Simonton 9800 , Softlite and the cost of the window depends on the glass package.

randy

#3 Post by randy »

It's impossible to say whether your price is fair or not without knowing the sizes of the windows, frame color, installation details, etc....

I would agree with the recommendation to look beyond Simonton. Soft-lite, Gorell, Sunrise would be three options that are available in Dallas.

Windows on Washington

#4 Post by Windows on Washington »

Paging anthony...anthony you around...?

More details please to evaluate the quote more accurately.

dinfusion

#5 Post by dinfusion »

I'll post the measurements when I get back in town from the holiday. Thanks for the responses.

dinfusion

#6 Post by dinfusion »

I'll post the measurements when I get back in town from the holiday. Thanks for the responses.

TheWindowNerd

#7 Post by TheWindowNerd »

With out grids at first glance the bid seems high to me.