Choosing new windows

For all those Replacement Window decisions - just read, review or post a question. You will be helped!
BlueSteel

Choosing new windows

#1 Post by BlueSteel »

I am totally new to window brands. I initially was just getting quotes from companies recommended by neighbors etc. I’ve done some research since then about the actual brands these companies have offered, but I feel like I’m probably missing some contextual info outside the specs (air infiltration, etc).
The two quotes we’re considering at this point are for Provia Endure (Comfortech DLA) and Okna (mostly 500 and some 700 casements). For the 18 windows, the Okna quote is coming out almost $6000 more. I expected Okna to be higher but that seems a steep differential.

So my question is - are Okna windows really that much better? Especially for mostly 500? The previous comparison decisions I have seen (where the clear winner was Okna) were much closer quotes, and also seemed to either Okna 800 or Provia Aspect quoted.
Both of the installation companies are well regarded.

Ricknez

Re: Choosing new windows

#2 Post by Ricknez »

The Okna is a better window hands down in my opinion. Provia makes a very good entry door, which is what they are really known for. We have been using Provia doors for years but not the window. Definitely a decent window but not up there with Okna. What state are you in?

Windows on Washington

#3 Post by Windows on Washington »

Can't add much to that feedback to be frank.

BlueSteel

#4 Post by BlueSteel »

I guess it’s hard as someone not in the industry to understand what makes the Okna so much better in comparison when all the spec ratings are very close. In my case, a double hung Okna 500 is about 35% more than the Provia. What about the performance justifies that price tag? I’ve tried to do my own research but beyond the u-factor, air infiltration, etc specs, I don’t find any info that helps me understand where we make the jump from “decent” to “much better.”